First United Church Council

(Members in **Bold** Print are sitting members of Council)

<u>Council Chairperson</u> Malcolm Macpherson

<u>Council Vice Chairperson</u> Burt Amiro

<u>Treasurer</u> Grant Langford

Council Clerk Avis McNutt

Regional Council Reps Wanalda Parsons Elaine Campbell

Board of Trustees

Alan MacLean - Chair Gordon Hickman Andrew MacLaughlin George White Grant Langford Krista McNutt Diane Wasson

Auditors

John Wheelock Mona Smith Pike

Communication Committee Alison MacLean Pam Bowman Carolyn Hunt

Fellowship Committee

Grant Campbell - Chair Elaine Campbell Geline Byers Audrey Jordan Blanche Currie Ad hoc Alan MacLean, Corrie Spearman Diane Wasson, Wilson Jones, Kenny Niles

Finance Committee

- Chair Grant Langford - Treasurer Krista McNutt - Property Rep Burt Amiro Mona Smith Pike Kathy Mack

Ministry & Personnel

John Wheelock - Chair Chris Bailey Mavis Yorke David Hubley Joy Hewitt Jud Pearson

Worship, Music and Concert Committee

Lynn Macpherson - Chair John McElhiney (Life Member) Lisa Annand Ruthie Hiltz - Joyful Noise! Rep Marie Braedley - Bell Choir Rep Joy Hewitt - Congregation Rep Barb Main Greg Allan Debbie Townsend Colleen Armstrong Shaw Malcolm Macpherson Corrie Spearman

Nominating Committee

Tillie Armstrong - Chair Chris Bailey Heather MacLeod Gloria Upham

Outreach & Social Action

Janet White - Chair Diane Wasson Jennifer Jordan Tillie Armstrong Charlotte White Susan Gallant Ad hoc Rhonda Gallant

Pastoral Care Committee

Ruthie Hiltz - Chair Leland MacLean R.V. MacKay Dale MacLean Margaret Hunt Susan Pace Carol Patton Gay Pearson Aubrey Hawley

Property Committee

Grant Campbell - Chair Greg Allan - Green Enthusiast Greg Johnson - Stewardship Rep Krista McNutt - Trustee Rep Church Attendant

Spiritual Formation Committee

Kathy Mack - Chair Adam Braye Laura Bowman Susan Chisholm Tasha Berry

Stewardship Committee

- Chair - Property Rep Sonya Law Karen MacCallum - UCW Rep Phil Gardner

<u>Women's Ministries - UCW</u> Krista McNutt

<u>Men's Ministries</u> Burt Amiro

Terms of Office

(from page 2 of the Council Booklet)

As mandated by the United Church of Canada: 2024 Manual.

The Council consists of an Executive and Committee and Group chairs and replaces the Session, Stewards and the Official Board.

The Council acts on behalf of the Congregation between Annual Meetings.

The members of the Congregation of First United who are entitled to vote at all meetings are persons in full membership whose names are on the roll of First United. With the consent of these, Adherents who contribute regularly to the support of First United may vote on temporal matters.

Every member of the Church Council must be a member of the Congregation of First United Church.

In the Church Council, the Congregation shall determine and define the organization and duties of those Committees that shall be responsible and empowered to exercise particular functions of ministry; it shall also define the organization, membership, and responsibilities of the Church Council.

The Church Council holds quarterly meetings; except when more frequent meetings are deemed necessary:

- Quorum: fifty percent of members plus one (50 % + 1) and one (1) Ordered Ministry personnel.

- Term: Elected by the members of the Congregation for a three-year term, with the noted exception of the Chairperson, Vice Chairperson and Clerk, and Treasurer who shall be elected for a two-year term, renewable for one subsequent two-year term (maximum four years).

The Chair of each Committee of Council is to be elected by the members of the Congregation for a three year term with an additional one renewable term (Serve a maximum of six years).

Members of the Committees shall be elected by the Congregation from among the Members and Adherents of the Congregation to fulfill the mission of the Congregation as outline in the Committee guidelines for a three-year term with an additional one renewable term (maximum of six years)."

When the maximum service is attained the person must take a one-year leave of absence from office before being re-elected to the same position on the Council/Committee.

Each Committee has a budget and makes and implements decisions within its budgetary and task description parameters.

Where appropriate, Committee Liaison Members may be appointed by the Committee to a Committee that has a mutual interest, but they are not eligible to be the Chair of a Committee of Council.

Board of Trustees

(from page 8 of the Council Booklet)

This committee is mandated by the United Church of Canada and each Trustee has a 10year term, which may be renewed.

Lay Representatives to Regional Council

(from page 11 of the Council Booklet)

These representatives are mandated by the United Church of Canada.